IP3 Awards

The IP3 Awards is a special occasion to honor those who have made significant contributions in our field over the past year, or over the course of their career. Each year, we honor people in three areas of IP : Intellectual Property, Information Policy, and Internet Protocol.



Chet Kanojia, CEO of Starry
Karen Peltz Strauss, Disability Advocate and Former FCC Official
Ruth Okediji, Author, Advocate, and Harvard Law Professor
Representative Mike Doyle, PA-18 (President’s Award)


Cathy O’Neil, Data Scientist and Author of “Weapons of Math Destruction: How Big Data Increases Inequality and Threatens Democracy”
Lateef Mtima, Professor of Law at Howard University School of Law and Founder/Director of the Institute for Intellectual Property and Social Justice
Mignon Clyburn, Former FCC Commissioner and Chairwoman


Senator Ed Markey, D-MA
Michelle Lee, Former Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the United States Patent and Trademark Office
Gigi Sohn, Fellow at Georgetown Law, Open Society Foundation, and Mozilla; Former Counselor to FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler
Senator Chuck Schumer, D-NY (President’s Award)
Representative Nancy Pelosi, D-CA (President’s Award)


Senator Al Franken, D-MN
Representative Blake Farenthold, R-TX
Jessica Gonzalez, National Hispanic Media Coalition


Shari Steele, Electronic Frontier Foundation
Rebecca Tushnet, Georgetown Law
Chip Pickering, COMPTEL


Tim Berners-Lee, World Wide Web Consortium
Malkia Cyril, Center for Media Justice
Julie Samuels, Engine


Representative Anna Eshoo, D-CA
Jerry Brito, WCITLeaks Leader and Faculty,  Mercatus Center
Eli Dourado, WCITLeaks Leader and Faculty, Mercatus Center
Sina Khanifar, Entrepreneur and Author of the Successful White House Cell Phone Unlocking Petition


Rebecca MacKinnon, Senior Fellow, New America Foundation
Michael Masnick, CEO, Techdirt
Andy Schwartzman, Public Interest Communications Attorney
Representative Darrell Issa, R-CA (President’s Award)


Senator Ron Wyden, D-OR
Beth Noveck, Professor, New York Law School
Peter Jaszi, Professor, American University’s Washington College of Law


Pamela Samuelson, Professor, Berkeley Law School & School of Information
Susan Crawford, Professor of Law, Cardozo Law School
Michael Geist, Professor, University of Ottawa


Karen Jackson, Deputy Secretary of Technology, Commonwealth of Virginia
Sascha Meinrath, Founder, Open Technology Initiative
Siva Vaidhyanathan, Professor of Media Studies, University of Virginia
Sarah Deutsch, Vice President and Associate General Counsel, Verizon
(President’s Award)


Carl Malamud, Founder, PublicResource.Org
Ben Scott, Policy Director, Free Press
Fred von Lohmann, Senior Staff Attorney, Electronic Frontier Foundation
Representative Zoe Lofgren, D-CA (President’s Award)


Jamie Love, Activist
OK Go, Band
Tim Wu, Professor, Columbia University Law
Robert Young, Founder, Red Hat Software (President’s Award)


Yochai Benkler, Professor, Yale Law School
Blake and Jason Krikorian, Co-Founders, Sling Media
Jessica Litman, Professor, Wayne State University Law School
James Burger, Member, Dow Lohnes PLLC (President’s Award)


Victoria Hale, Founder, The Institute for OneWorld Health
Gregory Macguire, Author
Dr. David P. Reed, Pioneering Computer Scientist
Gary Shapiro, President and CEO, Consumer Technology Association  (President’s Award)


Representative Rick Boucher, D-Va
DJ Danger Mouse, Musician and Songwriter
Brewster Kahle, Founder and Digital Librarian, Internet Archive