Who Should Get an IP3 Award This Year?


The public interest community has a lot to celebrate. In the last year, we have succeeded in stopping AT&T’s attempt to take over T-Mobile, prevented Congress from passing SOPA and PIPA, and saved net neutrality from a Congressional death sentence.

A number of thought leaders and activists have made these victories possible.

Public Knowledge's IP3 awards are a special occasion to honor those who have made significant contributions in the three areas of "IP"—intellectual property, information policy and Internet protocol.

This year will be the ninth year PK has made the awards, and now it's time for you to submit nominations. They can be for a career's worth of work, or for a more recent accomplishment. It's up to you.

Winners in 2011 were Sen. Ron Wyden, Beth Noveck, a professor at New York Law School and Peter Jaszi, a professor at the Washington College of Law at American University.

Recipients from past years include Reps. Rick Boucher and Zoe Lofgren, Ben Scott, then with Free Press, Fred von Lohmann, then with the Electronic Frontier Foundation, members of the band OK Go!; professor Tim Wu; Blake and Jason Krikorian, founders of Sling Media; Gregory Maguire, author of “Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West.”

Here’s how it works:

  • Send in your nomination to this email address: ip3nominees@publicknowledge.org
  • Give us the name of your nominee and a short explanation for why you think your nominee should win.
  • We’ll pass along that information to a panel of judges who will narrow down the list of nominees to three winners.

This year’s judges will be:

  • Leah Belsky, VP of Strategic Development and Assoc. GC, Kaltura, and PK Board member
  • Laurent Crenshaw, Legislative Director, Office of Representative Darrell Issa
  • Ben Scott, Policy Advisor for Innovation, Office of Secretary of State
  • Matt Wood, Policy Director, Free Press
  • Cynthia Wong, Director, Global Internet Freedom Project, Center for Democracy & Technology

Please make your nominations by May 16. You can see a list of past winners here. This year’s winners will be recognized at the 9th Annual IP3 Awards on September 12, 2012. 

The Latest