Press Release

Public Knowledge Accepting Nominations for IP3 Awards

April 30, 2010 ,

Public Knowledge today put out the call for public nominations for its seventh annual IP3 awards, which honor achievement in Intellectual Property, Internet Protocol and Information Policy.

Winners in 2009 were Karen Jackson, Deputy Secretary of Technology, Commonwealth of Virginia; Sascha Meinrath, Founder, Open Technology Initiative and Siva Vaidhyanathan, Professor of Media Studies, University of Virginia.   Sarah Deutsch, Vice President and Associate General Counsel, Verizon, won the special President’s Award.  Last year’s awards ceremony was attended by Sen. Mark Warner FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski and NTIA Dir. Lawrence Strickling.

Recipients from past years include Reps. Rick Boucher and Zoe Lofgren, Ben Scott of Free Press, Fred von Lohmann of the Electronic Frontier Foundation, members of the band OK Go!; professor Tim Wu; Blake and Jason Krikorian, founders of Sling Media; Gregory Maguire, author of “Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West.” A complete list of winners is here.

The web form to submit a nomination is here.